Can-Am Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
Can-Am Speedway 2024! Article 6/50

Can-Am Speedway 2024! Article 6/50

LAFARGEVILLE, NY - A lot of drivers have passed through the gates at the Can-Am Speedway and as we look back on the past 50 years, one driver left a lasting impression with the fans and was also one of the most well respected drivers in the pits, her name is Laurie Handschuh.

Jubilee Schedule Highlights

Jubilee Schedule Highlights

LAFARGEVILLE, NY - On June 14th 1974 the doors opened for the very first time at the Can-Am Speedway (then called Winner’s Circle Speedway) in Lafargeville New York. Jim Clark won the first ever Modified feature event and Gordie Dobbins won the Stocker feature and helped lay the foundation for the speedway, which is still going strong heading into its 50th year.



Can-Am Speedway 2024 - Coming Soon!

In The Dirt with Tim Baltz

In The Dirt with Tim Baltz

Weekly Race Results & Upcoming Events. Be sure to LIKE & SUBSCRIBE!!!



Can-Am Speedway


  1. Mother nature finally cooperated this past week with a little dryer weather and race fans were treated some some great dirt track racing. While the racing surface had it's challenges the first two weeks, this weeks surface was much better and drivers took advantage of the fast 1/2 mile on FX Caprara Honda night.
The Whitesboro Plow Shop-DIRTcar 358 Modified 25 lap feature was lead to the green by Mile Mandigo and Patrick Dupree. Mandigo showed his strength early and grabbed the lead over Dupree and Ryan Bartlett. Dupree charged his way to front spot on lap 3 bringing Bartlett with him. Jordan McCreadie worked his way up to the third spot by lap 4 and tried to run down the leaders. Dupree was cruising out front the remainder of the top 5 would not let him out of their sights. Dupree comfortable lead would disappear on lap 18 when second place running Bartlett slowed in turn 2 bringing out the caution. On the restart, McCreadie, Ryan Arbuthnot and Billy Dunn grabbed the top 3 spots. The 3 had a great battle to the end with McCreadie picking up his first win for Wes Moody Motorsports, Arbuthnot, Dunn, Gary Tomkins and Tyler Meeks completed the top 5.

Another strong field of 26 FX Caprara Honda-DIRTcar Sportsman were ready for their 20 lapper. Chris Thurston and Kyle Sharp were the front row and it was Thurston jumping out to the early lead over Sharp and Derek Webb on lap one. Addison Bowman grabbed the third spot and was being chased by Jack Meeks and Greg Henry. Thurston remained the leader at halfway but Meeks was running him down and began challenging for the top spot. While the two leaders battled, Henry, Jackson Gill, Bowman and Taylor Caprara were trying to join the fight. The race would go green to checkered and Thurston would hang on for the win over Meeks, Gill, Henry and Caprara

The FABCO-Pro Street Stocks had a light field but Rick Dusckas and Ryan Shanahan brought the group to green with Dusckas shown as the leader of lap one. Shanahan wrestled the lead away on lap 2 and Shawn Kirby took chase of the leader by lap 3. A couple of minor cautions slowed the event not allowing Shanahan to get away, but on every restart he would again open up a comfortable lead. Shanahan would go on for a very popular first win over Kirby, Dusckas, Lee Miller and Jason Fetterly.

The TLC Real Estate/Agent Marsha Gibbons-Thunder Stocks were up for their 15 lap feature with Josh Verne and Chuck Monica leading the field to green. Verne was the early leader with Monica settling into second and Zac Petrie in third. Verne would continue to lead through a couple of early cautions but by lap 6 teammate Petrie was on his bumper challenging for the top spot. The 2 would pull away to settle amongst themselves and as hard as Verne tried to get away Petrie stayed right on his bumper trying high and low looking for a way by but Verne was to strong on this night and picked up the win over Petrie, Monica, JR Durham and Don Woodworth.

Only two Novice Sportsman were signed in for the night, Jace Eisele and Andrew Young were ready to get in some laps. Eisele grabbed the lead at the drop of the green and would go on to lead the entire distance for his first win of the season.

Next Friday night will be Pepsi-Cola/TLC Real Estate-Agent Marsh Gibbons night at Can-Am. A complete 5 division show is on the schedule along with a spectator race for those fans that would like to see what it was like to make fast laps around the quick 1/2 mile. Next weeks spectator race is for cars only. Gates open at 5:00 with racing getting the first green flag at 7:30 sharp. Don't forget to make plans for the June 26th DIRTcar 358 Modified special and the return of Watertown native and Lucas Oil Late Model competitor Tim McCreadie to Can-Am. McCreadie will take on the track regulars and series stars and is sure to give them all they can handle as they compete the checkers. Follow us on Facebook at Can-Am Speedway for what's happening in 2019.


TLC/Real Estate/Agent Marsha Gibbons-Thunder Stock
22-Josh Verne, 13Z-Zac Petrie, 32-Chuck Monica, 02-JR Durham, 5-Don Woodworth, 82-Ray Graffam, 88B-Travis Berkman

Whitesboro Plow Shop-DIRTcar 358 Modified
9J-Jordan McCreadie, R70-Ryan Arbuthnot, 49-Billy Dunn, M96-Gary Tomkins, 17-Tyler Meeks, 6-Matt Williamson, 28-Jeff Sykes, 24-Patrick Dupree, 44-David Rogers, 27W-Nick Webb, 26M-Mike Mandigo, 621-Brian Hudson, 00-Ryan Poole, 93-Ryan Bartlett, 20 Steve Bilow, 29-Tom Conklin

FABCO-Pro Stock
32-Ryan Shanahan, 3K-Shawn Kirby, 3-Rick Dusckas, 77-Lee Miller, 57K-Kevin Fetterly Jr, 4-Mike Durham, 83-Will Gates, 1XA-Kenny Hartshorn

FX Caprara Honda-DIRTcar Sportsman
2-Chris Thurston, 1-Jack Meeks, 60-Jackson Gill, 15-Greg Henry, 21-Taylor Caprara, 12-Addison Bowman, 12S-Kyle Sharp, 25-George Sanford, 52-Jessica Power, 1X-Dalton Rombough, 415-Andrew Wren, 91-Josh Reome, 38J-Jarrett Herbison, 76-Jamie Platt, 18E-Gavin Eisele, 34-Eric Nier, 4X-Mike Gadbaw, 24-Jordan Kelly, 18-Justin Gadbaw, 10B-Jamie Brown, 5-Kevin Warren, 621G-Trevor Gibbons, 76G-Skylar Greenfield, 21H-Gage Howard, 66W-Derek Webb, 57H-Remington Hamm

Back to News

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds Can-Am Speedway May 18, 2022 | HIGHLIGHTS
06/29/22 Can-Am Speedway DirtCar Series Heat Race
Can-Am Speedway | DIRTcar 358-Modified Feature Highlights | 5/20/22
Can Am Speedway 5/18/22 Pro Clone Lites. *HEATS* Go Karts Haily Brownell 747
Can-Am Speedway-ProStock Feature Race June 17, 2022
Can-Am Speedway | DIRTcar 358-Modified Feature Highlights | 6/17/22

Our Partners

7 News
Bartlett Plumbing
Bob Johnson Auto Group
Childrens Miracle Network
Cooks Hardware
DIRTcar 358 Modifieds
DIRTcar Pro Stocks
DIRTcar Racing
DIRTcar Sportsman
Dirt Empire
Donath Motorworx
Empire Super Sprints
Healthy Kids Running Series
Hoosier Tire
Maggies On The River
Miss Adirondack
My Race Pass
NNY Racing Connection
North State Real Estate
OD Green Lumber
Panther Frameworx
Race Pro Weekly
Rock Auto
St Lawrence Radiology
Sundance Leisure
Super DIRTcar Series
TT Property Services
TLC Real Estate
Victims Assistance Center
VP Fuels