Can-Am Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4


LAFARGEVILLE, NY - Between off weeks and rainouts, the Golden Jubilee Season at the Can-Am Speedway has been at a stand still the last few weeks but all five divisions are back and ready for action at the Nasty Track of the North.



Up Next: Sprint Spectacular, Friday, July 19th

In The Dirt with Tim Baltz

In The Dirt with Tim Baltz

Weekly Race Results & Upcoming Events. Be sure to LIKE & SUBSCRIBE!!!

Can-Am Speedway 2024! Article 10/50

Can-Am Speedway 2024! Article 10/50

LAFARGEVILLE, NY - One of those drivers that kept fans on the edge of their seat every week was Joyceville Ontario’s Rick Wilson, who thrilled crowds weekly at the speedway with his fast pace and aggressive style, that made him a star over the years.

Anticipation Builds as 29th Pabst Shootout Draws Near


Can-Am Speedway

Anticipation Builds as 29th Pabst Shootout Draws Near

It was a tradition since 1980, when a big race was thought of to attract some of the best in small block modified racing across the Northeast. The Pabst Shootout came to life in late July of that season and drew big names along the way.

Bob McCreadie took the checkered flag in that first ever event that was 100 laps in distance. It was not an easy field by any means as behind him at the checkered flag were a pair of Can-Am legends with former track champions Tony Corcoran and Doug “The Ox” Carlyle completing the podium on that day, with Bill Styvenburg and Donnie Wetmore rounded out the top five.

A total of 42 cars came to Lafargeville with only 30 making the show. Big names like Ovide Doiron and eventual two-time Pabst Shootout winner Steve Roberts were a couple of many that failed to qualify.

From that point forward it was some of the best Can-Am regulars who have taken home “The Blue Ribbon” over the years. John Dahm, Tony Corcoran, Marcel Lafrance and Steve Roberts were a few of those who claimed the victory with Roberts becoming the first ever back to back champion in 1988 and 1989. Andy Romano ran as a track regular in 1983 when he won in his debut. His son Mike also won in his debut at the event in 1984.

Into the 90s Can-Am Regulars still held their own against some the best but invaders like Donnie Wetmore, Kenny Tremont and “The Hurricane” Steve Paine were able to come away with the win, by the way these three are in the Northeast Modified Hall of Fame too.

Still Can-Am regulars like Jimmy Johnson Jr., Rick Wilson, Danny O’Brien, Buzzie Reutimann and Pat O’Brien were able to win many of the events, showing the outsiders that this was their home and they weren’t to be taken lightly.

After the 2001 event won by Danny O’Brien, the event went away for the next 17 years before the Bartlett family brought it back in 2018. That year Elginburg Ontario’s Bobby Herrington passed Tim Fuller on the final lap to claim the win.

The event has since grown in popularity and continues to get stronger every season. Drivers like Billy Dunn have been able to get a pair of wins in 2019 and 2023, but the invaders have left their mark. Erick Rudolph won in his first try in 2020 and backed it up with a win in 2022. Dave Marcuccilli notched his first modified win at Can-Am, with a Pabst Shootout title in 2021.

One major name missing off the all time win list is three time track champion Tim Fuller.

Many have asked, did we forget about him? Not the case at all. Fuller has a record 5 second place finishes in this event with the first one coming back in 1995 to Buzzie Reutimann. Along with the runner finish to Herrington in 2018, he also finished runner up to Billy Dunn on two occasions and once to Erick Rudolph. This is something he wants to change in a hurry and is about the only event he has not won at “The Nasty Track of the North”.

The 29th edition is another history maker in the Golden Jubilee season as it is now part of the DIRTCar 358 Modified Series, which could be good news for Fuller who has won an impressive nine series races at Can-Am and will look to add another one.

Lance Willix has two wins at Can-Am this year in the Whiteboro Plow Shop DIRTCar 358 Modified division and leads the series points after his win at the opener at Glen Ridge to start the month of June over Stewart Friesen and Jordan McCreadie. Willix also claimed a Can-Am Crown Jewel winning the Summer Starter at the end of May.

Billy Dunn comes into the Pabst Shootout as the defending winner and with a win Wednesday night, could join Danny O’Brien and Steve Paine as three time winners of this event. Dunn has six career Shootout starts and comes into the 2024 event with a pair of podium finishes the last two years including last year’s win.

Also on this night the best in the Bob Johnson Auto Group DIRTCar Sportsman will take on the best on the DIRTCar Sportsman North and Central Regional Series for a 30 lap contest.

The lone Central Regional event was won on June 11th by Cody McPherson, who recently locked up the West Regional title. On the North side of the series Tyler Corcoran won the opener at Can-Am with Shane Pecore claiming his 11th career series win at Brockville on May 25th. Last season Tyler Stevenson took the biggest win of his career with his first DIRTCar Sportsman Series win. Stevenson has already been to victory lane once in 2024.

The Empire Super Sprints make one of their three visits to Can-Am and are always a fixture during the running of the Pabst Shootout. Points leader Jason Barney, Jordan Poirier, Davie Franek, Shawn Donath and Dylan Swernik will be some of the many favorites on had for the event. Last season Jordan Poirer claimed the win on his way to a second straight ESS title. 25 laps are in store for the Sprints Wednesday night

A lot of action with three big series and it’s a night you won’t want to miss as the Golden Jubilee season marches on.

Pit gates open at 3pm with spectator gates opening up at 4pm. Hot laps will get underway early at around 5:30pm with time trials just after 6pm. The first green flag of the night will fly at 7pm.

Don’t forget to check out all the latest new on our website at and for instant updates give us a follow on Facebook. Also make us one of your favorites and follow the live timing and scoring at Can-Am, on My Race Pass.

Can-Am Speedway Pabst Shootout Winners

Year | Winner
1980 - Bob McCreadie
1981 - John Dahm
1982 - Tony Corcoran
1983 - Andy Romano
1984 - Mike Romano
1985 - Marcel Lafrance
1986 - Doug Carlyle
1987 - Bob McCreadie
1988 - Steve Roberts
1989 - Steve Roberts
1990 - Donnie Wetmore
1991 - Jimmy Johnson Jr.
1992 - Kenny Tremont
1993 - Rick Wilson
1994 - Danny O’Brien
1995 - Buzzie Reutimann
1996 - Danny O’Brien
1997 - Pat O’Brien
1998 - Steve Paine
1999 - Steve Paine
2000 - Steve Paine
2001 - Danny O’Brien
2018 - Bobby Herrington
2019 - Billy Dunn
2020 - Erick Rudolph
2021 - Dave Marcuccilli
2022 - Erick Rudolph
2023 - Billy Dunn

Article Credit: Tim Baltz

Submitted By: Tyler & Michelle Bartlett

Article Media

Back to News

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds Can-Am Speedway May 18, 2022 | HIGHLIGHTS
06/29/22 Can-Am Speedway DirtCar Series Heat Race
Can-Am Speedway | DIRTcar 358-Modified Feature Highlights | 5/20/22
Can Am Speedway 5/18/22 Pro Clone Lites. *HEATS* Go Karts Haily Brownell 747
Can-Am Speedway-ProStock Feature Race June 17, 2022
Can-Am Speedway | DIRTcar 358-Modified Feature Highlights | 6/17/22

Our Partners

7 News
Bartlett Plumbing
Bob Johnson Auto Group
Childrens Miracle Network
Cooks Hardware
DIRTcar 358 Modifieds
DIRTcar Pro Stocks
DIRTcar Racing
DIRTcar Sportsman
Dirt Empire
Donath Motorworx
Empire Super Sprints
Healthy Kids Running Series
Hoosier Tire
Maggies On The River
Miss Adirondack
My Race Pass
NNY Racing Connection
North State Real Estate
OD Green Lumber
Panther Frameworx
Race Pro Weekly
Rock Auto
St Lawrence Radiology
Sundance Leisure
Super DIRTcar Series
TT Property Services
TLC Real Estate
Victims Assistance Center
VP Fuels